Los Angeles Clippers Guide: Franchise History, Leaders, Retired Numbers, Social Media and More


Previous Franchise Names: San Diego Clippers, Buffalo Braves

Principal Owner: Steve Ballmer
General Manager: Dave Wohl
President of Basketball Operations/Head Coach: Doc Rivers

Best Season: 2013-14 (57-25, .695)
Playoff Appearances: 11
NBA Championships: 0


Basketball: Closuep of Buffalo Braves Bob McAdoo (11) during game vs New York Knicks at Madison Square Garden.
New York, NY 12/14/1974
CREDIT: Walter Iooss Jr. (Photo by Walter Iooss Jr. /Sports Illustrated/Getty Images) (Set Number: X19175 TK3 R2 F5 )

The Los Angeles Clippers are in their third home city, having arrived in L.A. in 1984 after eight seasons as the Buffalo Braves and another six as the San Diego Clippers.

One of three expansion teams to enter the NBA in 1970, the Buffalo Braves made three straight playoff appearances from 1974-76 behind three-time scoring champion and 1974-75 NBA MVP Bob McAdoo, but never advanced beyond the conference semifinals.

The Braves moved to San Diego in 1978 two seasons into the longest postseason drought in NBA history, a span of 15 seasons across three cities from 1977-91.

During that stretch, the Clippers flirted with the NBA record for losses in a season in 1986-87, going 12-70, and posted just one winning record—going 43-39 but missing the postseason in 1978-79.

After back-to-back postseason bids in 1992 and 1993 and another playoff trip in 1997, the Clippers went on another extended dry spell from 1998-2005 and made the postseason just once from 1998-2011, reaching the second round in 2006.

L.A. suffered an ignominious loss in the second round in the 2015 playoffs, losing a seven-game series to the Houston Rockets after holding a 3-1 series lead—just the ninth team to do so in NBA history.

Their .393 winning percentage all-time is ahead of only the Minnesota Timberwolves among current NBA franchises and they’ve made the postseason just 11 times in 46 seasons.

Mike Dunleavy, who coached the Clippers in Los Angeles from the beginning of the 2003-04 season until he was fired 49 games into 2009-10, has the most regular-season wins of any coach in franchise history with a record of 215-326. Dunleavy’s teams were 7-5 in the playoffs.

Only three coaches have winning records with the franchise, all in L.A. Current coach Doc Rivers is joined by Vinny Del Negro (2010-13) and Larry Brown (1992-93) in that particular club.

Los Angeles Clippers Career Leaders (as of 3/9/2016)

LANDOVER, MD – CIRCA 1978: Randy Smith #9 of the Buffalo Braves shoots a free throw against the Washington Bullets during an NBA basketball game circa 1978 at the Capital Centre in Landover, Maryland. Smith played for the Braves/Clippers from 1971-79 and 1982-83. (Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Randy Smith

Los Angeles Clippers Retired Numbers

No numbers retired

Los Angeles Clippers Official Links

Official Team Site: nba.com/clippers
Official Twitter Handle: @laclippers
Official Facebook Page: Los Angeles Clippers
Official Instagram Page: Los Angeles Clippers
Official Arena Page: Staples Center

Los Angeles Clippers Beat Writers

Ben Bolch, Los Angeles Times, @latbbolch
Dan Woike, Orange County Register, @danwoikesports
Robert Morales, Lang Newspaper Group, @rmoralespt

Related Los Angeles Clippers Blogs and Links

Los Angeles Clippers Logo History, courtesy of Chris Creamer’s Sportslogos.net
Salary Page: Los Angeles Clippers Salaries at Spotrac
FanSided Los Angeles Clippers: Clipperholics
SB Nation Los Angeles Clippers: Clips Nation
ESPN TrueHoop Los Angeles Clippers: Clipperblog
HoopsHabit Los Angeles Clippers Archive: Los Angeles Clippers
Bleacher Report Los Angeles Clippers Team Stream: Los Angeles Clippers
RealGM Los Angeles Clippers Page: Los Angeles Clippers

Stats and retired number information courtesy of Basketball-Reference.com and NBA.com