15 NBA legends who never won Rookie of the Year

The 2024 NBA Draft will hopefully feature a new generation of stars but only one can win Rookie of the Year and here are 15 NBA legends who never won the award.
Ray Allen v Kobe Bryant
Ray Allen v Kobe Bryant / -/GettyImages
13 of 15

3) Dwyane Wade

The 2003 NBA Draft was littered with supreme talent, boasting nine All-Stars and multiple future Hall of Famers, Dwyane Wade among them. Still, he didn’t necessarily come straight out the gate firing on all cylinders like many of his contemporaries. He averaged 16.2 points 4 rebounds, and 4.5 assists per game which is nothing to scoff at, especially for a rookie, but his production paled in comparison to some of his fellow rookies, as he finished third in ROY voting.

In addition to his statistics, Dwyane Wade made an immediate impact with the Miami Heat. He played a significant role in the team's success, helping them reach the playoffs with a 42-40 record. Wade's ability to create scoring opportunities, distribute the ball, and contribute on defense earned him recognition as one of the top rookies of his class.

While he did not win the Rookie of the Year award (which went to LeBron James that season), Dwyane Wade's rookie season showcased his talent, work ethic, and potential as a future star and Hall of Famer, setting the stage for a remarkable career. He went on to become a 13-time NBA All-Star, eight-time All-NBA player, a three-time NBA champion with the Miami Heat, and one of the greatest shooting guards in NBA history.