15 NBA legends who never won Rookie of the Year

The 2024 NBA Draft will hopefully feature a new generation of stars but only one can win Rookie of the Year and here are 15 NBA legends who never won the award.
Ray Allen v Kobe Bryant
Ray Allen v Kobe Bryant / -/GettyImages
11 of 15

5) Tracy McGrady

Despite suffering numerous injuries that derailed his trajectory, Tracy McGrady enjoyed a stellar NBA career that culminated with an induction to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Still, like most players who make the jump to the NBA straight out of high school, McGrady initially struggled after turning pro. Although he was oozing raw talent and untapped potential, McGrady's impact was somewhat subdued due to his youth and the depth of the Toronto Raptors' roster at the time.

During his rookie campaign, McGrady showcased flashes of his immense potential, averaging 7.0 points, 4.2 rebounds, and 1.5 assists per game in limited playing time off the bench. While his rookie statistics may not have fully reflected his future Hall of Fame career, McGrady's athleticism and skills were evident, hinting at the star he would eventually become. He exhibited versatility as a forward, capable of scoring inside and outside, and his defensive potential began to surface as well.

Although his statistical numbers rendered him an afterthought in the Rookie of the Year conversation, T-Mac’s rookie season set the stage for his rapid development and eventual emergence as one of the NBA's premier scorers and All-Star players in the years that followed, particularly during his tenure with the Orlando Magic and Houston Rockets.